What is a natural minor scale?

The natural minor scale, also known as the Aeolian mode, is a diatonic scale that is derived from the major scale. It is a seven-note scale that follows a specific pattern of whole steps (W) and half steps (H). The formula for the natural minor scale is as follows:

1 – 2 – ♭3 – 4 – 5 – ♭6 – ♭7 – 1

For example, in the key of A minor, the notes of the A natural minor scale would be:

A – B – C – D – E – F – G – A

Compared to the major scale, the natural minor scale has a flattened third (♭3), sixth (♭6), and seventh (♭7) degrees. This alteration gives the scale a distinct minor tonality and a melancholic or somber sound.

The natural minor scale is commonly used in various styles of music, including classical, jazz, rock, and pop. It serves as the foundation for melodies, harmonies, and chord progressions in minor keys.

All About Music
Friday’s Freebies