What are Greek modes?

Greek modes, also known as the Greek scales or the church modes, are a set of musical scales or modes that originated in ancient Greece. They served as the foundation for Western classical music and continue to be used in various genres, including jazz, rock, and folk.

The Greek modes are based on the concept of starting on different degrees of the diatonic scale (a seven-note scale) and creating a unique pattern of whole steps (W) and half steps (H). Each mode has its own distinctive sound and character. Here are the names of the Greek modes and their corresponding starting degrees:

  1. Ionian mode (Major scale): Starts on the first degree of the diatonic scale.
  2. Dorian mode: Starts on the second degree.
  3. Phrygian mode: Starts on the third degree.
  4. Lydian mode: Starts on the fourth degree.
  5. Mixolydian mode: Starts on the fifth degree.
  6. Aeolian mode (Natural minor scale): Starts on the sixth degree.
  7. Locrian mode: Starts on the seventh degree.

Each mode has its own unique pattern of intervals, which can be described using whole steps (W) and half steps (H). The Ionian mode, for example, follows the pattern W-W-H-W-W-W-H, which corresponds to the major scale. The Dorian mode follows the pattern W-H-W-W-W-H-W, and so on.

These modes have been utilized in various musical traditions over the centuries, with composers and musicians exploring their distinct characteristics and utilizing them for different moods, melodies, and harmonies. They offer a diverse range of tonalities and can provide a rich and unique musical language when employed creatively.

All About Music
Friday’s Freebies