What Is The Andalusian Cadence?

The Andalusian cadence, also known as the Andalusian progression or the Diatonic Phrygian Tetrachord, is a chord progression that is commonly found in flamenco and other styles of music influenced by Spanish and Andalusian traditions. It is named after the region of Andalusia in southern Spain.

The Andalusian cadence typically follows a descending pattern and is often played in a minor key. The progression is characterized by four chords played in a specific sequence:

i – ♭VII – ♭VI – V

In the key of A minor, for example, the Andalusian cadence would be:

Am – G – F – E

The chords are typically played as triads, but they can be embellished with additional notes or played as extended chords to add more complexity to the progression.

The Andalusian cadence has a distinctive and somewhat melancholic sound, and it has been widely used in various musical genres beyond flamenco, including rock, pop, and jazz. It can create a sense of tension and resolution, making it a popular progression for creating dramatic or emotional musical passages.

All About Music
Friday’s Freebies