Answers To The Quiz

1. Using tones and semi-tones (whole steps and half steps), how do you construct a diatonic major scale?
w w s w w w s

2. What three intervals of the major scale are used to construct a major triad?
1 3 5

3. What are the five types of triads and what intervals construct these triads?
major 1 3 5, minor 1 b3 5, augmented 1 3 #5, diminished 1 b3 b5, suspended 1 4 5.

4. What is the difference between a Major 7 chord (CMaj7) and a Dominant 7 (C7) chord?
A major 7 has a 1, 3, 5, 7 while the dominant 7 has the 1, 3, 5, and b(flat) 7.

5. What are the seven triads in the key of C?
C Dm Em F G Am Bdim

6. What is the difference between a minor pentatonic scale and a minor blues scale?
The minor pentatonic has the 1, b3, 4, 5, b7. The blues scale is the same intervals except it also has a b5.

7. Why is Am called the relative minor of C major?
Because they share the same key signature or they have the same notes. Am is built off the 6th degree of the relative major. The C major scale has the notes C D E F G A B while Am scale has A B C D E F G.

8. What are the three blue notes?
b3, b5, b7

9. How is a C9 chord different than a Cadd9? A C9 has the intervals 1, 3, 5, b7, 9 while the add9 has 1, 3, 5, 9.

10. What does pentatonic mean? penta means five and tonic means tone. The pentatonic scale is a five tone scale. It has five notes.

Friday’s Freebies
Friday’s Freebies